Division Faculty Appointed to Leadership Positions with the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR)

Four division faculty serve in leadership positions for the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR). Clarissa Craft, PhD, was appointed to the Finance Committee, which oversees the financial affairs of the society and advises on budget consideration and fiscal strategies. She will start her service in September 2018. Erica Scheller, DDS, PhD, is a current member of ASBMR Membership Engagement Education Committee, and Nicola Napoli, MD, PhD, serves as the Chair of this Committee, which nurtures and develops young and mid-career investigators, advises on career development needs, and encourages participation in ASBMR activities. Scheller started her service in September 2017, while Napoli has served since 2016. Deborah Veis, MD, PhD, functions as the Chair of ASBMR Advocacy and Science Policy Committee, which is charged with generating recommendations in response to government initiatives and regulatory requirements related to research activities, such as NIH grant policies. She was appointed in this capacity in 2016. Such a high representation of our division faculty in the leadership of the premier professional organization in the musculoskeletal field underscores the rapidly growing stature of our younger investigators and the impact on their research. Congratulations to Drs. Craft, Scheller, Veis and Napoli!